Winter Break

Although I leave two cats and three wonderful roommates when I travel home for the holidays, I still have a lot to look forward to. Warmer temperatures, indoor heat, loving parents, and the time-frozen neighborhood of my childhood all welcome me back gladly, but there’s also another perk: a huge, clean kitchen. If you’ve seen any of the photo posts I’ve done in the past you’ll find that while the kitchen in our apartment does have a ton of useful stuff, four people cooking in it can make it pretty messy (especially when we’re all too busy to clean). So when I’m home, I take advantage of generous, hungry parents and treat us all to some good cooking.

On the menu last night was an asparagus, onion quiche. We also had a bunch of potatoes, so I got the cheese grater and sliced them super thin, layering them in the bottom. Then came a layer of brie to make it extra creamy. I tossed on a pinch of nutmeg. Sounds weird, I know, but it worked with the brie somehow. I poured in the mixture of veggies, eggs, cream and flour and placed some strips of gouda and a dash of parsley on top to make it pretty. Who would have thought I’d be the one making the house smell delicious at dinnertime.

About Ashley Klann

Clark masters student. Local reporter. Photographer. View all posts by Ashley Klann

Leave a Reply

