More Winter Eats

So, I’ve wanted to make this cake for a while but have been too nervous. After all, the dessert is famed by the oh-so-exclusive Lady M Confections and the other Lady M(artha Stewart)… that bitch

The Mille Crepe cake calls for at least 20 crepes layered with pastry cream. I’ve been making blintzes for years, so the crepes came easy, but I’d never made pastry cream. A summer working at a cake and coffee shop didn’t prepare me enough, apparently.
The recipe I used was from Cream Puffs in Venice, an awesome food blog for a foodie (and photographer) like myself. However, having never worked with boiling milk, the cream turned into something more like pudding. I didn’t have Kirsch, so opted for coffee liqueur instead. It tasted fine but looked pretty lumpy… but I guess once you cut it, no one cares.

We had it with a glass of Jack Daniels and eggnog with some nutmeg sprinkled on top. Smells like winter.

Happy Holidays!

About Ashley Klann

Clark masters student. Local reporter. Photographer. View all posts by Ashley Klann

Leave a Reply

