Waste not want not

I can’t explain how much I love not wasting things. It probably stems from my intense desire to be as painfully cheap as possible. It’s something I have to work on… but one good side effect from being so penny-pinching is the ease of being green. I recycle partly because it costs extra for each trash bag we put out. Of course I want to save the environment and all that jazz, but it’s also easier on our garbage costs. If I’m not in the room, the lights are off. I’m also careful to never waste food because I remember how many hours I’d have to work to pay for it. Sometimes seeing things in dollar signs is unhealthy, but it does have its perks.

How does this tie in with puff pastry, you may ask? It’s something that really helps me to never waste food. Wrap up your leftovers, and it’s a whole new meal! This one’s filled with leftover leeks, onions, tomatoes, chickpeas, and pepper jack cheese. Sprinkle on some cumin and curry powder (because no meal is complete without them) and you’re done!

About Ashley Klann

Clark masters student. Local reporter. Photographer. View all posts by Ashley Klann

One response to “Waste not want not

Leave a Reply

