The Faces of Worcester II

Still unsure what I’m going to end up doing with these, but they’re still very inspiring.

The Vietnamese woman was a true joy. At first I thought she was misunderstanding my request to take her photo. She kept saying that there were beautiful flowers near Clark. I said, “Yes, but I like photographing people. May I take your picture?” She insisted that I walk with her to the flowers. We got to Crystal Park.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On the way we chatted. She’s lived in Worcester for 15 years. She’s from Vietnam. She doesn’t like Vietnamese people because they’re hard to talk to… and you have to be careful who you talk to on the street. (I guess I didn’t give her any bad vibes.) She was wearing a sedge hat and asked me why Americans like them so much. I said that I didn’t know. She offered to make me egg rolls next time I see her. I gave her my number and told her I’d give her a print of the photo soon.

She was very methodical in planning out the photo once we reached the park and insisted that I take a few. If one in 20 people I meet turns out like this, this project will be a thrill.

About Ashley Klann

Clark masters student. Local reporter. Photographer. View all posts by Ashley Klann

2 responses to “The Faces of Worcester II

Leave a Reply

