…and other things technology has stolen

It was a tremendously risky thing to you. You were literally placing your deepest secrets in the hands of your peers. Literally. Vital information crossed the room, and we were all so sure no one knew about it. While keeping things under wraps, sneaking them across classrooms, and making sure the teacher didn’t notice used to be something only the deft and courageous tackled, passing notes in class is a thing of the past.

I’ll let that sink in for a minute.

Think back to elementary school. You’d spend a significant amount of time writing it out. Gel pens were high class. Your ordinary sheet of notebook paper would look like an origami masterpiece by the time it was ready for its trip across the classroom.

How many times did we participate in this ritual? Getting caught, that kid who would read it before it got to the right set of eyes, the anticipation of getting a response to the “Check yes or no” love letters.

In dawned on me recently that passing notes in class may very well become a thing of the past. A coworker joked, “Yeah, we’ll be saying ‘Back in my day, we passed paper notes to each other.’ Now they’re all texting.” And it’s true.

The scariest part though is how quickly it’s happening. We haven’t been out of grade school for that long. Sure, we all want to pretend we’re adults by now, but when you count the years, it really wasn’t that long ago.

Kids are also getting cell phones at a much earlier stage in life. I got my first cell phone at 16 when I was going on a trip separate from my parents for two weeks. I didn’t know what to do with it, and I hardly ever used it. Only after high school did I really ever need a phone other than the chorded phone in my room at home. My niece just got a cell phone for her birthday. She’s nine. She will never know the joy of passing a note across the classroom. Between that and her Nintendo DS, she’s entertaining herself via screen most of the day… but I digress and will end this snippet before sounding too much like an old person way ahead of my time.

About Ashley Klann

Clark masters student. Local reporter. Photographer. View all posts by Ashley Klann

Leave a Reply

